2 February 2016

New Junior Competitions Manager – Matthew Shaw

Cockburn Basketball Association is pleased to announce the addition of Matthew Shaw to our Cougar Family. Matthew has commenced work in the new role of Junior Competitions Manager.

Matthew is passionate about basketball and played National League Basketball at a professional level for the Manchester Magic Basketball Team in the United Kingdom. He was also Head coach for Under 16 & Under 18 Men’s National League Basketball team in Tameside.

His previous roles included Venue Management at a restaurant; Duty Manager at a health club; Gym Instructor with a sports trust; and Development Officer with a council.

Matthew will be responsible for the coordination and delivery of all the Domestic Junior Basketball Competitions for Cockburn Basketball Association. The role also involves providing support to Senior Competitions, WABL Program, and Introductory Programs to ensure pathways are in place for junior participants.

Please make Matthew feel welcome.

 12 December 2015

Keith McKenzie Golden Whistle Award

Congratulations to Eva Harris! Keith McKenzie Golden Whistle Award recipient for Referee of the Year 2015. Well done Eva!

 10 December 2015

WA Volunteer Awards 2015

Congratulations to our following Club and Life Members who were acknowledged at WA Volunteer Awards for 25 plus years service for Cockburn Basketball Association — at Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre.

From left to right... Michael Van Lit, Tammy Van Lit, Bert de Meyere, Peter Stanley, Eleanor Clarke, Gary McKay, Heather Stanley and Michael Cronin

 23 November 2015

Juniors - Semester 1 2016

Nominations are now open for the Semester 1 2016 Junior Basketball Season.
Please click on link to see some changes that will be brought in and for details on how to register.

Online Nominations

Nominations close Friday 22nd January 2016.

 20 September 2015


Congratulations to the under 16 div 2 Men and the D-League Women, both WABL Champions! Big congrats also to the under 12 boys who just missed out, going down by 3 points. Well done all!

Under 12's receive their runner-up medals

Under 16 champions 2015

D-League Champions 2015

Allstars Awards

Congratulations also to referee Eva Harris who was selected to referee a grand final yesterday.

 15 September 2015

This is a 9 week introductory basketball program for girls and boys aged 5-10.
Sessions will be run on Saturday mornings from 10am-11am at Wally Hagan Stadium starting October 17.

Please see Posters attached.
Media Release

Participants must register and pay online at http://www.aussiehoops.com.au/.

For further information please contact our office.
ph: 9335 9101
Email: development@cockburncougars.com

 12 September 2015

SBL Presentation Night 2015


MVPs - Gavin Field and Deanna Smith

Runners-up - Najee Lane and Katie Loberg

Coaches Awards- Grant Davey and Nicole Roberts

Player's Player Award- Sheldon McIntyre and Kirsty Pitcher

Rookie of the Year - Julian Pesava and Izzy Miotti


MVPs - Julian Pesava and Nicole Roberts

Runners-up - Matt Vinci and Nicole Pitcher

Coaches Award - Jacob Knight ans Izzy Miotti

Congratulations to all of our winners. Well deserved! Some fantastic speeches on the night and great to catch up with coaches, players, volunteers and staff.

 6 September 2015


Congratulations to Matt Parsons on Coach of the year. And Deanna Smith and Gavin Field on making the All-star 5 teams.

Statistical awards

Leader in Assists per game - Deanna Smith
Highest Free Throw Percentage - Deanna Smith
Highest Field Goal Percentage - Katie Loberg

Leader in Steals per game - Najee Lane
Highest Free Throw Percentage - Gavin Field
MSBL Coach of the Year - Matt Parsons
Deanna also finished 4th highest in the MVP votes and Gavin 2nd.

 28 August 2015

WABL Coaching Positions

Applications are invited from suitably qualified and experienced coaches for the 2015 BWA State Championships and the 2016 WABL season.

CBA WABL Coaching EOI.doc

 25 August 2015

Seniors - On-line Team Registration!

You can now register your senior team on-line by following this link.